Nickel-Free Plating: How to Pass EN 1811
For zipper and hardware factory owners, the purchasing decision is about repeatable compliance at production load, not simply replacing one tank. Process engineers must qualify adhesion on zinc die-castings, coverage inside recesses, compatibility between layers and the final assembled article. The following review separates documented reference chemistry from proposed factory controls and illustrative investment arithmetic.
Process Engineer's Verdict
Start with a complete material map. Zinc-alloy bodies, brass pullers, steel pins and purchased springs may need different preparation. Approve cleaning and activation on each substrate; aggressive activation can expose casting porosity. Never apply acid copper directly to bare zinc as a shortcut around a qualified strike.
Buy the chemistry as a compatible system. Require the supplier to demonstrate the strike on your actual alloy and barrel loading, then validate copper build, barrier and topcoat together. Trivalent chrome over tin-cobalt is not automatically interchangeable with chrome over nickel. Reject a proposal that omits interlayer adhesion trials or nickel contamination limits.
Working Data & Formula Notes
The two tables below document public reference formulations, not QLQ production recipes. Broad published ranges are not operating permissions. Use an approved supplier technical data sheet, analytical methods and pilot results before making up a production tank; salt hydration and assay must be confirmed.
| Component | Range | Typical | Function | Replenishment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper, as metal | 1-15 g/L, published | 6.0 g/L | Copper source | Assay; approved copper feed |
| Zinc, as metal | 1-15 g/L, published | 3.3 g/L | Limits immersion deposit | Assay; approved zincate |
| Potassium pyrophosphate | Example point only | 250 g/L | Complexant | Analysis and drag-out balance |
| Potassium hydroxide | To qualified pH | pH 9.5 | Alkalinity | Metered correction |
| Water | Final volume | 1 L | Solvent | DI water; level control |
Example 5 of US4904354A uses approximately 32.2 degrees C, 0.43 A/dm2 and three minutes. It deposits a copper-rich alloy, not pure copper. These historical conditions require fresh qualification on modern castings.
| Component | Range | Typical | Function | Replenishment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Potassium pyrophosphate | Example point only | 250 g/L | Complexant | Complexant analysis |
| Tin pyrophosphate | 2-70 g/L as Sn, published | 15 g/L salt | Tin source | Tin assay; approved feed |
| Cobalt chloride | 1-40 g/L as Co, published | 30 g/L salt | Alloying metal | Cobalt assay; confirm hydration |
| Ammonia solution, 28% | 20-100 mL/L, published | 70 mL/L | Brightener partner | Analysis; ventilation required |
| Dithioammelide | 0.01-5 g/L, published | 0.6 g/L | Brightener | Controlled panel trials |
| Water | Final volume | 1 L | Solvent | DI water; level control |
Reference: US3951760A. Metal-basis ranges are not salt masses. This is historical chemistry, not a modern safety approval or an EN 1811-certified barrier.
Equipment and trend controls
Provide dedicated tanks, pumps, filters, sampling tools and handling fixtures; calibrated temperature and pH instruments; ampere-hour recording; DI rinsing; local exhaust; and traceable sample storage. Size rectifiers from immersed area and qualified current density, not piece count. Barrel contact interruptions require separate validation from rack trials.
For example, a load with 20 dm2 effective area at 1 A/dm2 needs 20 A before design margin. Establish that effective area experimentally for barrel work. Verify thickness at puller holes and slider recesses, not only exposed faces.
| Parameter | Normal band | Danger / hold threshold | Response |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reference A pH | 9.3-9.7 | Outside 9.0-10.0 | Hold; analyse before adjustment |
| Reference A temperature | 31-34 degrees C | Below 29 or above 36 | Restore heat control; inspect adhesion |
| Reference A current density | 0.40-0.46 A/dm2 | Outside 0.35-0.50 | Check contacts and area estimate |
| Tin-cobalt pilot pH | 9.8-10.2 | Outside 9.5-10.5 | Hold; verify chemical balance |
| Tin-cobalt pilot temperature | 53-57 degrees C | Below 50 or above 60 | Review appearance and alloy composition |
| Tin-cobalt rack current density | 0.5-2.0 A/dm2 | Outside qualified window | Investigate burning or weak coverage |
| Finished nickel release | Internal target: at most 0.25 micrograms/cm2/week | Above target: hold for review | Apply laboratory decision rule and buyer limit |
Adopt tighter bands only after a capability study. The release target is a proposed guard band, not the legal limit. Bath nickel contamination needs its own supplier-agreed action concentration and laboratory detection limit; no universal ppm threshold is defensible for every stack.
Market Feedback Reality
Real QLQ buyer enquiries ask whether sliders can meet nickel-free requirements and whether plating colours remain available. The knowledge-base customer-email FAQ, question 9, records this environmental-compliance question; the workshop investment FAQ, question 41, records the colour question. They establish purchasing concerns, not evidence that this specific stack has passed a customer's laboratory.
Agree acceptance before quoting: contact scenario, colour master, gloss, corrosion exposure, opening force, wear requirement, test edition, sampling plan and laboratory decision rule. A bag fitting with occasional hand contact and a garment fastener resting against skin should not receive an unexamined identical compliance specification.
| Complaint to investigate | Likely check | Acceptance evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Looks nickel-free but release fails | Hidden nickel layer, spring or carry-over | Assembly material map and release report |
| Passes initially, changes after use | Wear-through, pores or weak adhesion | Agreed conditioning and repeat testing |
| Colour differs between deliveries | Alloy ratio, topcoat and load distribution | Approved master and measured tolerance |
| Slider becomes stiff | Build-up at functional clearances | Assembly force and cycling results |
Experimental comparison with stated conditions
Historical tin-cobalt trials provide formulation evidence, not finished-zipper compliance results. The following comparison is reported in US3951760A; test conditions were pH 10, 55 degrees C, 0.5-2 A/dm2, cathode rocking and carbon anodes.
| Trial | Cobalt source, g/L | Tin in deposit | Reported appearance | EN 1811 result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Example 1 | Chloride, 30 | 80.3% | White, bright | Not reported |
| Example 4 | Sulfate, 35 | 80.9% | White, bright | Not reported |
| Example 5 | Acetate, 30 | 80.1% | White, bright | Not reported |
A purchasing trial must therefore add finished assemblies, production loading and release testing. Compare at least three independently processed pilot lots per candidate stack. Include samples from start, middle and end of processing; agree specimen numbers with the laboratory rather than presenting three samples as a statistically sufficient universal rule.
Two useful qualification scenarios are an apparel slider with a purchased lock spring and a polished luggage puller with a deep logo recess. In the first, test the complete material assembly; in the second, map minimum local coverage and appearance after wear. These are proposed trials, not invented QLQ customer success stories.
Cost Analyst Breakdown
Cost per accepted piece matters more than chemical cost per kilogram. Include laboratory testing, rejects, bath inventory, recovery, wastewater treatment and additional handling. Palladium economics are particularly sensitive to thickness, plated area, drag-out and metal price. Obtain a dated quotation rather than relying on an undated benchmark.
| Cost item | Existing nickel route | Tin-cobalt route | Pure palladium route |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chemistry and metal | 18 | 27 | 65 |
| Labour and energy | 12 | 14 | 14 |
| Treatment and recovery | 5 | 7 | 8 |
| Reject / rework allowance | 8 | 5 | 4 |
| Batch testing allocation | 4 | 4 | 4 |
| Total / unit cost | 47 / $0.047 | 57 / $0.057 | 95 / $0.095 |
Assume one $200 laboratory bill allocated across a 50,000-piece batch: $200 / 50,000 = $0.004 per piece. At only 10,000 pieces, the same bill becomes $0.020. This example shows why order size and lot definition belong in the commercial agreement.
For an illustrative tin-cobalt retrofit costing $24,000, assume 300,000 accepted pieces monthly, a $0.020 customer price premium and $0.010 incremental unit cost. Monthly contribution is 300,000 x ($0.020 - $0.010) = $3,000. Simple payback is $24,000 / $3,000 = eight months, excluding tax, finance, depreciation and working capital.
To recover the same investment in 12 months, break-even volume is $24,000 / [12 x ($0.020 - $0.010)] = 200,000 pieces monthly. With no premium or avoided-loss benefit, the example has no positive payback. Verify signed customer demand before accepting the investment case.
As a sensitivity check, dropping volume to 150,000 pieces doubles payback to 16 months. If incremental cost rises to $0.015, payback also doubles at the original volume. Do not add speculative rejected-shipment savings unless your accounts document those losses.
Risk & Compliance Review
EN 1811 measures nickel release; it does not require every compliant article to contain zero nickel. Removing intentional nickel is a process strategy that also needs an agreed definition for the buyer's nickel-free claim. According to REACH Annex XVII, entry 27, relevant direct-and-prolonged skin-contact parts must not exceed 0.5 micrograms/cm2/week. Piercing post assemblies have a separate limit below 0.2; ordinary zipper hardware is not a piercing post.
For relevant non-nickel-coated articles, entry 27 also addresses maintaining the release limit for at least two years of normal use. Agree EN 12472 wear-and-corrosion conditioning where applicable; an unconditioned report alone may not settle durability compliance.
The BSI catalogue lists EN 1811:2023. Specify the edition accepted by the buyer and applicable regulatory reference; do not silently reuse an older report. The local QLQ reference note cites the older 2015 edition and a seven-day extraction. Ask the laboratory to control all extraction conditions under the agreed current method.
XRF screens elemental composition, not release. Use an ISO/IEC 17025-accredited laboratory with the relevant method in scope. Reports should identify specimens, exposed area, conditioning, detection limits, uncertainty and conformity decision rule. A report supports the tested lot and agreed representativeness; it is not blanket certification of every future shipment.
Nickel-free and cyanide-free do not mean harmless. Review current SDS documents for cobalt salts, ammonia, alkalinity, chromium chemistry and proprietary additives. Provide splash protection, suitable gloves, extraction and emergency washing. Keep incompatible waste streams separated; prove metal removal with treatability trials because complexants can interfere with precipitation.
Engineer Notes
- Freeze the full stack and assembly bill of materials; forbid unapproved nickel-bearing replacements.
- Separate nickel-free tools and fixtures; document cleaning before any shared handling.
- Qualify the weakest recess and contact point, not just the most attractive surface.
- Control tin-to-cobalt balance analytically; brightness alone cannot diagnose alloy composition.
- Match topcoat activation to the barrier supplier's instructions; check interlayer adhesion.
- Quarantine each production lot until its agreed release evidence is accepted; retain samples.
| Shift stage | Item | Frequency | Pass criteria |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre | Bath analysis and instrument calibration | Each shift; metals per control plan | Approved bands; calibration valid |
| Pre | Materials, fixtures and route identity | Every lot setup | Approved nickel-free material map |
| Mid | pH, temperature, current and contacts | Hourly and after additions | Qualified recipe; no contact interruption |
| Mid | Coverage, thickness and function | First load and every lot | Drawing limits at critical locations |
| Post | Appearance, adhesion and sample retention | Every lot | Approved master; no lifting; traceable samples |
| Post | Release report and shipment status | Every finished batch | Accepted laboratory decision; signed release |
Buyer FAQ
Can your sliders pass nickel-free and non-magnetic requirements?
These are separate specifications. Nickel-release evidence does not establish magnetic behaviour. Send the destination market, assembly drawing and named tests; qualify the alloy, plating and spring together. QLQ's real customer-email FAQ records this combined buyer question, but a new stack still requires its own sample approval.
Can we keep our existing plating colour when switching to nickel-free?
Approve a new colour master. Tin-cobalt, pure palladium, trivalent chrome and tin do not necessarily reproduce nickel's gloss or shade. Request production-load samples and an agreed instrumental colour tolerance. The QLQ workshop FAQ records buyer interest in nickel-free colours; availability is not proof of colour equivalence.
Will nickel-free hardware pass our salt-spray requirement?
Set the exposure method, duration and allowed defects separately. Nickel release, corrosion resistance and wear resistance measure different performance. QLQ's customer-email FAQ includes salt-spray questions; it does not justify transferring an older stack's result to this nickel-free route. Test the proposed finished article.
Can we buy one chemical and convert the existing line?
Not responsibly without checking preparation, barrier compatibility, rinsing, rectifier capacity and wastewater treatment. Prepare a tank-by-tank audit and a pilot acceptance plan. Ask for chemistry consumption, recovery arrangements, training and replacement-material controls before selecting a retrofit or dedicated line.
Knowledge-base provenance: QLQ Obsidian Vault, IMA split note 063, zipper-slider nickel-release requirements; customer-email Product FAQ, questions 5 and 9; Workshop Equipment and New-Factory Investment FAQ, question 41. Names are translated into English here. Complete QLQ production formulations and finished-article release results for this exact stack remain to be confirmed.